top of page

Chevelle- Niratias



While I haven't heard every album in Chevelle's discoraphy, they appear to be one of those bands that age like fine wine from what I’ve heard of them. They are also one of the bands among Korn, Limp Bizkit, P.O.D., Slipknot, etc., that seem to be keeping Nu Metal alive and I love that about them! This album definitely proof of those things and I think its their absolute best work! The album has an amazing balance between heavy, melodic, and atmospheric and it has a very mature sound. On top of that, I really dig its space theme! When you listen, prepare yourself to blast off because this one's a journey! Chevelle is back and better than ever even as a duo!



Here are my thoughts track-by-track:



Verruckt- Killer instrumental intro that builds up enough energy and suspense to engage its audience. I could see the band use this to open live sets. The guitars are very artful and the drums add very nicely to it. Great way to start the album! 5/5


So Long, Mother Earth- The thing I instantly notice is surprisingly not Pete’s lead vocals, but the sound of that BASS! It’s so refreshing to hear a track that is driven heavily by bass, that’s so rare nowadays. I really dig the lyrics in the verse too “Get up, you can and you will. Life is a task and scary as hell.” A’int that the truth! The deep screams at the end of the last chorus are also a nice surprise and finish it off perfectly! 5/5


Mars Simula- This one is a BANGER! The rhythm brings me back to the early nu metal days when its bands’ heavy guitars used hip-hop inspired staccato rhythms. The riffs are not just heavy, but really colorful and full of life on the bridge and verse-to-chorus transitions. I am not a typical mosher at shows, but this songs makes me want to mosh! 5/5


Sleep the Deep- Very psychedelic and haunting interlude! It has me on the edge of my seat. 5/5


Self Destructor- Pete’s vocals and the bass dominate this one. Vocally, this one is impressive, Pete really got to show off what he could do with his range and screams. Love the build up at the bridge and the end of the song,!I think the screams really make it! This one has me head banging along with the bass. 5/5


Piistol Star (Gravity Heals)- This song’s rhythm and atmosphere is very industrial. I almost hear some Nine Inch Nails/Rammstein influence. (I mean that as a compliment!) The guitars on this one have an awesome high energy jolt that would definitely pump up a crowd if played live and I feel pumped up just listening to this. I would definitely play this song in the morning if I need pumped up for work. 5/5


VVurmhole- An interlude full of cool guitar sweeps and abstract pedal effects. Makes me feel like I am blasting off into space. 5/5


Peach- This one’s follows a simple time signature, but the way it is layered makes it sound more complex. The rhythm is very echoey. Could have benefited more from a little melody. 4/5


Test Test...Enough- The guitar reverb this interlude has is beautiful along with the vocals. It feels intimate like I am hanging backstage during a sound check. This is definitely my favorite interlude out of the three. 5/5


Endlessly- My favorite on the record! Beautiful ballad with a huge atmosphere, heavy reverb on the bass, and beatboxy drum-sampled beats. The acoustic-like effects of the guitars and the drums are the icing on the cake and are the driving force of the song. 5/5


Remember When- The perfect song to transition out of Endlessly. The transition between songs is so smooth and would love to hear them together like this live. It’s very bright and radiant with the complex riffing, the layering of the guitar tracks, and its siren-like vocals. 5/5


Ghost and Razor- Sounds like it was pulled straight out of the 2000s. Very post-grunge

-sounding instrumentally with bluesy clean vocals! The bridge has a very System of A Down-sounding guitar screech and the screams are IMPRESSIVE! If played live, I imagine a huge circle pit appearing right after the bridge and the crowd going nuts! My only critique is that the guitar patterns that drive the song's verses are a little repetitive. 4/5


Ranking: 4.8/5 or 9.6/10


With all of that said, I think this release is definitely the best that 2021 has given us so far and I think it will be one of THE releases of the year! If you're feeling up to it, give it a listen, it won't disappoint!

bottom of page